Team Permissions

Enterprise teams often require custom permissions set on a project or team level. Your team admin can request custom permissions, which your dedicated account manager then configures manually.

You can see configured permissions in your Enterprise team from the team settings window. Follow the steps outlined in this article to view your team settings.

Keep reading to learn about the three different types of permissions that can be controlled on a team basis.

Not yet on an Enterprise team? Find out more ›

Inviting Members

You can manage team member invitations based on domain. These two permission types are available:

  1. Anyone who is invited can join this team (default)

    Any editor in your team can also invite other collaborators. Therefore any editor in a team will be capable of inviting any other person.

  2. Only users with a company email can join this team

    Enterprise teams can also be configured to restrict user-invites to people who have a company email address. If this permission has been enabled in consultation with your account manager, only users with an email address matching your organization's domain will be able to get invitations to your team or team project.

Project Access

You can set project access on a by-project basis from the Collaboration menu. However, you can also manage project access as a team setting; this overrules individual project access settings and limits who can open project links.

You can manage access to all team projects in an Enterprise team with the following permissions:

  1. Anyone with the link can open projects (default)

    By default, anyone that is given the direct URL of your project can open it. These visitors become project viewers.

  2. Only members and invited users can open projects

    To keep your Enterprise team projects secure, enable this permission to limit project access to explicitly invited project and team collaborators.

    This means that only if the user is a team collaborator (i.e. a viewer, editor, project editor or admin on a team), they will be able to open the project if given the URL or after being invited to a project. Any other user that is not explicitly invited to the project or part of the team will not be able to open the project, even if they have the URL.

  3. Only users with a company email can open projects

    This setting limits project access to users with a company email address. This means that anyone who is logged into Framer with an email address on your set company domain will be able to open your projects.

How changes in project access affect other projects

After your administrator requests that your team projects to be set to Only members and invited users can open projects or Only users with a company email can open projects, all existing projects will be updated to respect this permission.

If you decide to revert to the default (public) permission, all new projects will respect the Anyone with the link can open projects permission. This means that previous projects will still remain private, but any project editor/owner can change them to public from the Collaboration menu.

Prototype Access

Share any prototype created within Framer with the Prototype view. Once you share the prototype view link, anyone with that link will be able to view your prototype.

For Pro users, access to individual Prototype view links can be set from the Shared Prototype menu within the project, by enabling the Private Link option.

As with project access, Enterprise teams can overrule these individual permissions and instead choose from three global, team-wide permissions to manage who can open and view prototypes in Prototype view links:

  1. Anyone with the link can open prototypes (default)

    The standard permission dictates that anyone with the URL to a Prototype view can view the prototype.

  2. Only members and invited users can open prototypes

    If the user is a team collaborator, they will be able to open the project if given the URL (or after being invited to it). Any other user not explicitly invited to the project or team will not be able to open the project, even if they have the URL.

  3. Only users with a company email can open prototypes

    You can secure your Enterprise projects by enabling only users with a company email to open the project. With this permission, any person attempting to open your project link will be granted access if they are currently logged in to Framer with an email address matching your company email.