Setting permissions to projects
Note: This article refers to the Framer desktop app. Learn more about the differences between the Framer web and desktop app here.
Framer projects can be shared and distributed in two main ways:
Who can get edit rights to a project?
Edit rights are granted in only two scenario’s:
- Anyone who’s explicitly invited to a project by filling out their email and selecting the can edit role, in the Invite Collaborators panel.
- If your project is under a Team, anyone in your team can view your project from their dashboard without needing to be invited.
Sharing a project URL
When you share the direct project URL, by default anyone opening the URL can only view your project unless they have already been invited as editor or if the project is under a team in which they are an editor.
To control who can join your project via a project link, click the dropdown at the bottom of the collaboration menu and choose one of the below settings:
- Anyone with the link can view is the default option, which has the implications explained in the previous paragraph.
- Only collaborators can access hides the project from anyone who is not explicitly invited to the project, or from anyone that is not in your team if the project is in said team.
Prototype view permissions
A Prototype view can be created with the Share icon in the top-right corner of your project, inbetween the Invite button and the Preview icon.
Framer then creates a fully interactive permanently hosted preview of your prototype. The link to this prototype can then be shared with anyone to preview your prototype anywhere at any time.
Access to Prototype views
Once shared, the Prototype view link is currently visible to anyone that the link is distributed to. We are working on more advanced features to allow access control to Prototype view links.
If you’re part of a larger team of 20+ and would like to know more about the possibilities around custom permissions, please reach out to us.